A helpful guide for e-visa application of India
Content in the Article:

On January 1, 2010, the Indian government introduced a scheme where tourists could get a visa on arrival in the country. But from November 27, 2014, an online Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) scheme replaced the earlier visa-on-arrival plan. The Indian government renamed this program as the “E-Tourist Visa” to eliminate any existing confusion over the earlier visa-on-arrival scheme that did not require any advance application. The execution of this new agenda has gone forward in phases with more countries being made a part of it in a progressive manner. There was an additional expansion to the program in April 2017 when the passport holders of 161 countries were brought under this program, up from 150 nations. The extent of this visa has also been widened, and now persons looking to visit the country for conferences, casual business visits, yoga courses, and short medical treatments have been brought under its coverage. Previously these folks would have to apply for business, student, or medical visas. But now one visa does it all. The complete idea of this implement is to make it easier for individuals to get an Indian visa so that the number of medical tourists and business can be brought into the country. In a proposal to make this change possible, the e-tourist visa scheme was further divided into three categories, namely:

  1. E-Tourist Visa
  2. E-Business Visa
  3. E-Medical Visa

Citizens from 161 countries are eligible to apply for an e-visa- eVisa Information about India

E-Tourist Visa applications should be made online a minimum of four days and a maximum of 120 days prior to the planned date of travel.  The e-visa application should be submitted online at the following website: Offical Website for eVisa

Application Process

The application process is very simple. First, the online application is to be submitted in the above-mentioned website and the e-visa fees are to be paid only after which the documentation process is validated. A citizen of one of the 161 countries approved in the Indian government website, who is visiting India on a short trip, business, or medical purpose can avail the benefits of e-tourist visa. Inhabitants of all other countries not listed will be obligated to avail a normal visa since the Indian government does not have a system that approves citizens of other countries to enter without a visa. Few steps are to be followed to apply for an e-visa.

First, the Bio page of the valid passport that shows the details and photograph is to be scanned. In case you have an invitation letter, that should be also scanned and uploaded but that is not necessary. The digital photograph needed to be uploaded should be in JPEG format and should be within a minimum of 10KB and a maximum of 1MB. The background of the photograph must be solid colour or white. Bio page should be scanned in PDF format with a minimum and maximum size of 10 KB and 300 KB respectively. Other documents to be uploaded ought to also be in PDF format with a minimum size of 10 KB and a maximum size of 300 KB. Some important documents are required to make the registration procedure simpler and faster. After registering in the online service and filling the application form a photocopy of valid passport along with a passport size photograph must be attached.

After that, just the application fee payment is to be done. It takes around three to five working days for the processing of the documents after payment. If all the documents are in order, then the visa will be issued and will be sent through the registered email. E-Visa can be attained twice every calendar year, between January and December. Previously an e-visa was valid for 30days but currently, it is valid for 60 days. E-Business and e-tourist visa holders are allowed two entries while the e-Medical visa will permit entry to the country up to three times. The visas are non-convertible and non-extendable.

Cost of the eVisa:

Now, comes the cost of the visa. It depends on the kind of rational relationship shared by India with different countries. There are four categories of fee amounts for e-visa.

It is free for the citizens of  Argentina, Cook Islands, Fiji, Jamaica, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Micronesia, Nauru, Niue Islands, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Seychelles, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Tonga, Tuvalu, Uruguay, Vanuatu.

It costs $25 for inhabitants of Japan, Singapore, Sri Lanka and $50 for Citizens of the rest of the countries. This is the category that the majority of the countries fall into.

For US, UK, Russia, Ukraine, Mozambique it costs $75 to apply for the e-visa to India. Excluding the visa fee, a supplementary banking charge of 2.5% of the fee is also applicable.

If there is any hurry to get a visa then iVisa.com can be helpful enough to provide an e-visa but with a payment of a premium amount. The fee chargeable for this “Super Rush Processing” service is $65 along with the e-Visa fee and a $35 service fee. This is a reliable and genuine visa company. While submitting an e-visa beware of the fact that there are a number of duplicates or fraud commercial websites have been set up replicating the official government website for application of visa. Some of these fraudulent websites that claim to provide tourists with e-visa are e-visaindia.com, e-touristvisaindia.com, indianvisaonline.org.in. These are the unofficial sites and are not renowned or operated by the government and there also some inappropriate additional charges applied while application submission.

Contact Information:

Getting an e-tourist visa to India is not very tough to get but at times it might be denied. The incidents of e-visa being denied are very rare though. If documents are legitimate and are in proper order then the visa will be issued in due time without ay problem otherwise it might be denied. If any kind of help or assistance is required regarding the e-visa application process, please call on +91-11-24300666 or drop an email with your query to indiatvoa@gov.in.